Conakry: Capital of Islamic Culture in the African Region for 2011


Conakry is a capital and largest city of Guinea. A port city on the Atlantic Ocean, Conakry is also viewed as one of the major African cities.

According to some historical records, the name of the city comes from the fusion of the name “Cona”, a wine producer of the Baga people, and the word “Nakiri”, which means in Sosso the other bank or side. The Republic of Guinea Conakry is located on the West African Coast. It is bounded on the north by Senegal and Guinea-Bissau; on the east by Mali and Côte D’Ivoire; on the south by Sierra Leone and Liberia; and on the west by the Atlantic Ocean. Guinea Conakry is divided into four distinct natural regions: namely, Lower (or Maritime) Guinea; Mid-Guinea; Upper-Guinea; and Forested Guinea.

Conakry was originally settled on tiny Tombo Island and later spread to the neighbouring Kaloum Peninsula. The city was essentially founded after Britain ceded the island to France in 1887.

Conakry became the capital of French Guinea in 1904 and prospered as an export port, particularly after a railway to Kankan opened.

conakry (1)
Panoramic view of the city of Conakry

The city of Conakry spread up the neighbouring Kaloum Peninsula, forming five municipal communes. These are: Kaloum – the city centre; Dixinn – including the Abdel-Nasser University of Conakry and many embassies; Ratoma; Matam; and Matoto – home to Conakry International Airport.

Monument to commemorate the 1970 military victory over the Portuguese invasion

The major civilizational landmarks of the city include the Conakry Grand Mosque, the Guinea Palais du Peuple (People’s Palace), and the Guinea National Museum.

Conakry Grand Mosque
(it was built with a grant from His Majesty King Fahd Bin Abdulaziz of Saudi Arabia).